Uns ist aufgefallen, dass Sie einen Browser benutzen, der von unserem System nicht unterstutzt wird. Die TripAdvisor Seite kann daher nicht korrekt dargestellt werden.
Wir unterstutzen die folgenden Browser:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean view Penthouse

Puerto Ayora
|
Ferienwohnung/ Apartment – 
Studio, 1 Badezimmer, 2 Schlafmöglichkeiten

Bewertungen von Reisenden

Leisten Sie einen Beitrag zur TripAdvisor-Community und helfen Sie anderen Reisenden, die perfekte Ferienwohnung zu finden.
Bewertung schreiben

Bewertungen von Reisenden

Datum | Bewertung
  • Deutsch zuerst
  • Englisch zuerst
  • Spanisch zuerst
  • Beliebig
  • Alle aktuellen auf Deutsch
Deutsch zuerst
IN_Travel ...
West Lafayette, Indiana
Beitragender der Stufe 
80 Bewertungen
23 Hotelbewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Nice Niche Accomodation for the Adventuresome”
4 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 17. Januar 2014 für einen Aufenthalt im Januar 2014
Mit Google übersetzen
3
Personen fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

My wife and I are 64 year-old experienced travelers exploring the Galapagos for the first time (Jan '14). Torre Mar is a good choice for the adventuresome travelers who want to experience life in the heart of the only true city in the Galapagos, and who want to avoid the grossly overpriced hotels on the island. The "penthouse" is actually a very modest efficiency apartment that happens to be on the top floor (5th floor, 72 steps up) of one of the tallest buildings in town, which affords a magnificent 360 view of the city from the terrace that surrounds the apartment on all sides. I believe we took a sunrise picture every morning.

Owners Donna (originally from Indiana) and John (locally born) live on the third floor, and made an extra effort to be there to meet us and to have the apartment ready for us when we arrived at 9:00 a.m. We saw them both several times during our 6-night stay and enjoyed our conversations with them.

One of the best things about this rental is the pre-arrival packet Donna e-mails that is an extremely helpful guide for the first-time visitor to the Galapagos. We exchanged e-mails with Donna several times asking the most tiresome of questions, but Donna always responded quickly with the answers we needed.

Our only complaint would be that this is an apartment, not a B&B, and, as such, the owners expect the guests to be responsible for everything beyond a starter 5-gallon dispenser of potable water and a single roll of toilet paper. This is just fine for visitors of a couple days, but we ran out of toilet paper after day 5, and had to ask Donna for a new roll, which was an unnecessary embarrassment for any guest. Any owner in the Galapagos should assume the responsibility of potable water and essentials such as toilet paper for their short-term guests.

This one quirk aside, we would definitely recommend Torre Mar as a clean, accessible, affordable accommodation for explorers wanting a safe, comfortable place to stay.

4 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 4 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 4 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
4 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 4 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
4 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 4 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
4 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: Location, price, view, wifi, cable TV, friendly owners.
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: Stairs. Expectation that we provide our own toilet paper beyond a starter roll.
Reisegruppe: Ehepartner/Partner
Ihre Altersstufe 65+
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Trips mit Freunden Senioren
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
Lisa R
Owen Sound, Kanada
Beitragender der Stufe 
80 Bewertungen
12 Hotelbewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Not what I expected”
3 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 17. November 2013 für einen Aufenthalt im November 2013
Mit Google übersetzen
2
Personen fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

First off, let me start by saying the apartment was very clean, very spacious and it is in a good location. Not as close to the water as it looks from the pictures though. I had no problem with the apartment itself, but more so the location, and thats my own fault. I didn't realize that Puerto Ayora was such a loud and busy little town. Cars, motorcycles, horns and dogs barking all night long made for a very noisey stay. Bring ear plugs. When going to the Galapagos you think of a paradise, quiet and relaxing stay. This isn't the town for that. The exhaust fumes alone from the cars, etc. is such a shame for such a natural and environmental place. We booked a night on Isla Isabela and stayed an extra night (would have stayed more but we were leaving the next day to go home) just because that is what we envisoned when we booked the Galapagos. Like I said the apartment itself was great, it was just the surroundings i was a little bit disappointed with. Close enough to the main street to walk but the unfinished construction, piles of rubble and whatnot was not what I expected. I would recommend these apartments but would strongly relay that if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing sleep, this probably isn't for you.

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 4 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 4 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
4 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: the size of the apartment was huge
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: the noise from the street
Reisegruppe: Ehepartner/Partner
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Trips mit Freunden
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Antwort
17. Nov 2013
Lisa I am glad you liked the apartment. This is to be a review of the property. We are located 3 blocks from the coast and about 4 blocks from the main dock. This information is stated. We offer an ocean view and a lovely view of Santa Fe. We work very hard at maintaining a quality standard at our 9 various properties throughout Galapagos. I am sorry you do not care for the community. Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island is the largest community in Galapagos of about 15,000 people and is the hub of tourism and conservation. It is a bustling town. It is home to the best restaurants in Galapagos. More high standard reliable services are available in Puerto Ayora than any other community in Galapagos including scuba diving, spas, and day tours. Due to the central location of the community in the archipelago visitors have access to more remote visitor sites and other islands than any other community in Galapagos. This is the only location land based visitors have access to see tortoises in the wild. The town has 4 beaches within walking distance from the center of town. The beaches are located on the each side of town. Including Tortuga Bay with a huge white sand beach with surf on one side and the calm bay on the other. The area is home to a large population of marine iguanas and bird life as well as a marine turtle nesting area. The seaport is in the central part of town and is the focal point in this community. There is a reason why the community is bustling. You must remember 97.3% of the Galapagos is set aside for the wildlife of Galapagos. Only 2.7% of the land is available for use by the human population, this includes the agricultural areas as well as homes for residents, and accommodations for visitors.
Diese Antwort ist die subjektive Meinung des Managementmitarbeiters und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
Akshay J
Weehawken, New Jersey
Beitragender der Stufe 
53 Bewertungen
12 Hotelbewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Beautiful vacation rental”
5 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 17. September 2013 für einen Aufenthalt im September 2013
Mit Google übersetzen

Stayed as a couple in September 2013 on the 5th floor ocean view penthouse. This was a 7 star experience at reasonable rates. Wonderful view, pleasing layout, in the heart of the Puerto Ayora town close to everything, owners were very friendly, even got a cell phone from the owners for local use (you have to purchase minutes needless to say). Its not a hotel but a vacation rental so be prepared to cook your own breakfast and meals if you wish to eat in the house. The pleasure of having breakfast in the mornings on our private terrace at sun rise watching the ocean and the town wake up slowly was priceless. Do bear in mind that there are no elevators though. In case you take the higher floors you'll need to be fit enough to walk it up.

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 5 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 5 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
5 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: Ocean and town view from a private terrace
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: The cock crowing continuously after sunrise but this cannot be controlled by the owners
Reisegruppe: Ehepartner/Partner
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
  • Wurde Ihnen Ihre Kaution rechtzeitig zurückerstattet?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
give_me_2 ...
Edmonton, Kanada
Beitragender der Stufe 
6 Bewertungen
4 Hotelbewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Excellent Base for Galapagos Travel”
5 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 27. Januar 2013 für einen Aufenthalt im Mai 2012
Mit Google übersetzen
1
Person fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

Short Version:
This was our first trip to South America and this was the best introduction! We highly recommend Torre Mar.

Long Version:
We (family of four) stayed here, in a two bedroom apartment for a week before our Galapagos cruise. This apartment was perfect for us, we greatly preferred it to staying in a hotel. It is a short walk to the harbor, restaurants, beautiful Tortuga Bay etc. (or taxi's are only $1 to anywhere in town).

We felt totally safe & secure staying here, and had all the comforts of home. The apartment is perfectly clean & we always had hot water right away. The wifi, TV, & air conditioning, although not necessary, all worked fine. The apartment has a private balcony, and the shared terrace on the top floor is great for a barbeque, relaxing, meeting the neighbors, & has a great panoramic view of the town. There is a laundry facility onsite, but on Donna's recommendation, we had our laundry done for $6.50 (one weeks worth of laundry for family of 4), which was a treat.

The apartment alone is great, and the owners make the experience even better. I would have saved myself a lot of research time, if I had begun by booking this place. Donna & John are a great resource for everything in Galapagos (activities, cruises, day trips etc.).

Donna emails an information package when you book. She arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, and even though we had a last minute change in our flight time, one quick email to her, & we still had a driver. He stopped to show us some of the sites on the way to Torre Mar, which was a bonus.

Donna & John are gracious hosts. When we arrived, we went over our cruise itinerary with them & they gave us recommendations for things to do, that were not included on our cruise. They arranged two snorkeling day trips for us that were both highlights of our trip. They also gave us recommendations of excellent places to eat, and buy groceries etc. We enjoyed the food at the restaurants so much, that we used the well equipped kitchen less than we thought we would.

We are very happy we stayed here in addition to our cruise. It gave us a chance to meet some warm, friendly people, and experience the local culture. It also gave us more freedom to experience some of the Galapagos Islands at our own pace, rather than the cruise's regimented schedule. This place is also ideal for a land based vacation, as it is central to many of the attractions, and Donna & John can help you make arrangements (if you wish) according to your interests and budget.

Hopefully, we will be back to see the islands we missed, and we will definitely stay here again, only longer next time.

p.s. I tried to include some photos in this review, but the upload was unsuccessful. The photos provided on TA and VRBO are accurate, as of when were stayed here.

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos?
5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft 5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen
5 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte 5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers
5 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: The Location & the hospitality of the Owners
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: Wish we kept more days open for suggestions from the Owners
Reisegruppe: Teenagers
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Familien mit kleinen Kindern
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
Bkupcha
Beitragender der Stufe 
10 Bewertungen
5 Hotelbewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Awesome vacation rental convenient to everything!”
5 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 27. August 2012 für einen Aufenthalt im Juni 2012
Mit Google übersetzen
3
Personen fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

My family stayed at Torre Mar for 18 days this past June and loved every minute of it! All of the amenities of home (wifi, large TV, air conditioning, large space, etc.) and best of all - a rooftop view of the beautiful port on one side and the highlands on the other. We felt right at home and Donna, John and Donovan could not have made us feel more welcome! We plan to return very soon. Staying at Torre Mar and then doing "day trips" around the islands is the very BEST way to see Galapagos Islands . . . .

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 5 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 5 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
5 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: The apartment itself was like home!
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: I really can't think of anything.
Reisegruppe: Weiterer Familienkreis
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Trips mit Freunden Familien mit kleinen Kindern
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Antwort
27. Aug 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Diese Antwort ist die subjektive Meinung des Managementmitarbeiters und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
Sergey42
Dallas, Texas
Beitragender der Stufe 
3 Bewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 "Hilfreich"-
Wertung
“Perfect!!!”
5 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 4. Juni 2012 für einen Aufenthalt im Mai 2012
Mit Google übersetzen
1
Person fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

This apartment was just perfect for me. I was traveling alone, so didn't require a lot of room, yet it is very spacious. Price is reasonable, internet access, local cell phone, 5th/top floor, keyed entry to the building. Apartment has its own patio and the view is spectacular. The owners - John & Donna are very friendly and helpful. They provided me with all necessary information. Let me put it this way: when I'll travel to Santa Cruz again - Tore Mar would me my first choice.

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 5 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 5 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
5 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: Location, top floor, patio.
Reisegruppe: Alleinreisende/r
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Trips mit Freunden Familien mit kleinen Kindern
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
  • Wurde Ihnen Ihre Kaution rechtzeitig zurückerstattet?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
burkensto ...
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Beitragender der Stufe 
4 Bewertungen
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 "Hilfreich"-
Wertungen
“Great condo, close to everything, (about penthouse rental)”
5 von 5 Sternen Bewertet am 17. Januar 2012 für einen Aufenthalt im November 2011
Mit Google übersetzen
1
Person fand(en) diese Bewertung hilfreich

Donna and John (D&J) do a nice job with this place. Before arriving they sent us alot of information on the island and pretrip necessities. They arranged a driver to pick us up from the airport and escort us every step of the way to our rental. This was $40. (side note, if you are ok by your self, there will be cabs there picking up fares and it is only $15 anywhere you want to go). D&J offered excellent advice on things to do, see, and where to eat. They also invited us to a BBQ.

The penthouse had the perfect amount of room for us. Cozy tv area (couchs not for sleeping), kitchen big enough to make some nice dinners, table for 2, large closet, nice firm bed. Large bathroom, shower only. The balcony was the deal sealer. Very large and facing the ocean and the heart of town. The only negative was the only furniture on the balcony where two patio chairs and a small wooden table.

Torre mar is only a few blocks from the pier and main road for restaurants. Its also close to a small street they close at night and the restaurants set up tables in the street.

Laundry room is next to the building and icluded in the rental.

WARNING - If you have difficulties with stairs, this is not the place for you. The penthouse is 6 flights up.

5 von 5 Sternen Konnte die Buchung der Unterkunft problemlos durchgeführt werden? 5 von 5 Sternen Wie hilfreich war die Wegbeschreibung zur Unterkunft?
5 von 5 Sternen Verliefen Schlüsselübergabe/Zugang zur Unterkunft problemlos? 5 von 5 Sternen Gesamtzustand der Unterkunft
5 von 5 Sternen Betten und Matratzen 4 von 5 Sternen Küche und Geräte
5 von 5 Sternen Sauberkeit des Badezimmers 4 von 5 Sternen Andere Ausstattungs- & Serviceleistungen
5 von 5 Sternen Service
Gefiel mir am besten: The view from the balcony
Gefiel mir am wenigsten: On or private balcony, there was only 2 chairs and small table
Reisegruppe: With Spouse/Partner
Würden Sie Freunden dieses Hotel empfehlen?   Ja.
Empfohlen für:
Trips mit Freunden Familien mit kleinen Kindern
  • War die Unterkunft so, wie sie beworben wurde?
  • Würden Sie den Standort der Unterkunft empfehlen?
  • War das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis in Ordnung?
  • Hatte die Unterkunft W-LAN bzw. Internetanschluss?
Fanden Sie diese Bewertung hilfreich? Ja
Diese Bewertung ist die subjektive Meinung eines TripAdvisor-Mitgliedes und nicht die von TripAdvisor LLC.
An diesem Objekt interessiert?
Anfragen
Ankunft
Abreise
Gäste
ab
USD 150
/
Nacht
Woche
Es können zusätzliche Gebühren vom Eigentümer erhoben werden.
Buchung anfragen
Oder senden Sie eine Nachricht an den Eigentümer.
Nachricht senden
für dieses objekt gilt unser zahlungsschutz
Inhaber
Donna D
Spricht Englisch, Spanisch, Italienisch
Seit gelistet: Aug 2011
Antwortrate: 100 %
Kalender aktualisiert: Vor 7 Tagen
Rundum-sorglos-Schutz
Sie profitieren automatisch vom Rundum-sorglos-Schutz, wenn Sie eine Ferienwohnung über TripAdvisor buchen.
Mehr erfahren
Besitzen Sie eine Ferienwohnung? Zeigen Sie sie hier an.
Die Anzeige ist kostenlos!
Fügen Sie Ihr Mietobjekt kostenlos zu TripAdvisor und Holiday Lettings hinzu. Sie zahlen nur 3 % Vermittlungsgebühren für jede bestätigte und bezahlte Buchung.
Schützen Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten
TripAdvisor gibt Ihre Kontaktinformationen erst dann an Ihre Gäste weiter, nachdem die erste Zahlung getätigt wurde.
Erhalten Sie mehr Präsenz
Präsentieren Sie Ihr Objekt Reisenden auf der ganzen Welt, die jeden Monat aktiv an Ihrem Reiseziel nach Mietobjekten suchen.
Kostenlose Anzeige erstellen